About the HOF
2005 Banquet
2005 Inductees
HOF Criteria
Nomination Form
Pioneer of the Game
Site Index
HOF Affiliates
Contact Us
HOF Sponsors

North Carolina Soccer Hall of Fame
1988 CASL Elite
U-14 Boys USYSA William J. “Billy” Goaziou Cup
2003 National Champion
2015 National Hall of Honor

Eric Dean (coach), Jarrett Davis, Adam Williams, Watt Williams,
David Cotter, Sean Haglund, Stephen Dilger

First, here are the facts. The 1988 CASL Elite were the 2003 U-14 USYSA Boys National Champions. With their success, they became the first boys’ club team (and second squad overall) from North Carolina to reach the top. Only the 1977 Raleigh Spartans (1995 U-18 Girls USYSA Francis J. “Frank” Kelly Cup National Champion and 2013 NC Soccer HOF National Champions Hall of Honor inductees) had gone so far. The team’s state record over their first four years was 94-6-8, with a 17-0-1 mark in 2003. Ten players from that team went on to play collegiately.

Proof of success, then, is inscribed on the trophy and on the stat sheets. But as any seasoned coach will point out (as well as the players, with the passage of time), it ultimately comes back, in retelling, to the road and the journey. And what a journey it was.

88 CASL ELITE's National Champion Hall of Honor Profile

Copyright © 2005, North Carolina Soccer Hall of Fame