Pioneer of the Game

All too often we find ourselves not taking the time to remember those individuals who paved the way for soccer as we know it today. Each year, individuals are recognized and honored as Pioneers of the Game during the North Carolina Soccer Hall of Fame weekend. The awards, sponsored by the North Carolina Youth Soccer Association, are presented during the Sunday afternoon NCYSA Awards Luncheon.

The Pioneer Of The Game honorees were selected by the North Carolina Soccer Hall of Fame committee through the 2006 awards. Since that time the selections have been made directly by the North Carolina Youth Soccer Association, independently of the HOF.

Pioneer of the Game Award Winners
1990: Carl Smith (Chapel Hill)….1930s High Point College captain (deceased)
  Dr. Marvin Allen (Chapel Hill)…..See Hall of Fame Class of 1997 (deceased)
1991: Francisco Blanco (Jacksonville)….Longtime Lejeune High School coach
1992: Barbara Blum (Greensboro)-deceased…..See Hall of Fame Class of 1999
  Pat Hamilton (Raleigh)-deceased….See Hall of Fame Class of 2000
1997: Andre’ Burger (Charlotte)…..Local/State Administrator
1999: Jim Batten (Greensboro)-deceased…..Local Coach/Administrator
2000: Jim Goodman (Raleigh)…..Supporter Of WRAL Soccer Complex
2001: Bob Kropinak (Swansboro)……Onslow County youth coach/administrator (deceased)
  Stanley Dudko (Belmont)…..Former Belmont Abbey College Men’s Coach
2002: Colon Balance (Jacksonville)…..Former Jacksonville White Oak High School Coach
  Paul James (Winston-Salem)…..See Hall of Fame Class of 2008
2003: Woody Harrison (Wilson)…..Youth Coach/Administrator
2004: Vicky Brawley (Chapel Hill)…..Youth Coach/Administrator
  Dr. Vaughn Christian (Boone)…..Former Appalachian State University Men’s Coach
2005: Calvin Lane (Wilmington)…..Former UNC Wilmington Men’s Coach
  Nick Lefko (Misenheimer)….Former Pfeiffer College Men’s Coach (deceased)
2006: Stacey Enos (Tampa, Fl)…..UNC Chapel Hill, Member of first U.S. Women’s National Team
  Bill Palladino (Chapel Hill)…..UNC Assistant Women’s Coach
2008: Richard Pierce (Lenoir, NC)
2011: Joe Bach (New Bern, NC)…..Long-time New Bern administrator/referee
2012: Jim Carpenter (Greensboro, NC)
2015: Stig Sasse (Raleigh, NC)-deceased     See Hall of Fame Class of 2017